rats and rented accomidation

For anything to do with rat care that doesn't fit into any of the sections above!
Rasboozy

rats and rented accomidation

Post by Rasboozy » Mon Jun 02, 2008 4:52 pm

Right for the few of you that dont know, my parent have gone travelling for a year around the world (yes very hippy cool parents!) I have been renting our family home off my parents as they needed someone to pay the mortage while they are away and obviously i need somewhere to live. I have been a student for the last 18 months and am due to qualify in September, my parent also come home from their travels in September.

The number of furries I have, have grown considerably while they have been away (from 4 to 14). So am thinking I am gunna need to move out shortly after they come back! :lol:

I am going to apply for a Keyworker flat as I work in the NHS. Now, do I really need to declare I have pet rats to the renting agent??? I am sure everyone is going to say yes I have to declare it, but its not like they are a cat or dog that roam around freely.... they are caged and make minimal noise. Can I get away with not mentioning it? I want to get a two bedroom place so my babies have a room of their own, but obviously many, many many people are not rat friendly.

How does everyone tackle this hurdle?? :o

Cate

Re: rats and rented accomidation

Post by Cate » Mon Jun 02, 2008 4:57 pm

I really think you need to come clean about it; I'm sure the landlord has every right to ask you or them (or both) to leave if he discovers them later.

However, I'd describe them as "small caged animals" rather than "rats" - at least to start with. :wink:

Aliwoo

Post by Aliwoo » Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:38 pm