What action can we take in response to rodent farm thread?

For all breeding, rearing and genetics related discussion. Kitten pictures may be posted in "Your Rats".
Purposefully bred litters of any background may NOT be advertised on the Fancy Rats forum.
katielittle25

What action can we take in response to rodent farm thread?

Post by katielittle25 » Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:59 pm

Hi everyone, we are all disgusted by what we have recently seen in the thread about rodent farms and I though it might be a good idea to discuss what action we can take to stop this industry.

I personally feel very bad about it as 3 of my darlings were bought from a petshop, so I feel I need to do something so I can sleep at night!

If anyone knows of any petitions or organisations who are trying to ban the sale of pets in shops could you let the rest of us know so that we can get involved. Or could we start a new petition on here? I've never done anything like this before so I need advice x
Mr.Squish
I miss you always Princess, Fredo, Rosie and Lulu :halo:

Noddpot

Re: What action can we take in response to rodent farm thread?

Post by Noddpot » Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:11 pm

Im sure there is some kind of action to be taken, I do not have any suggestions for you, but I am offering my support in any actions towards this trade you are willing to take i.e petitions etc and I hope that others do so too

x

Noddpot

Post by Noddpot » Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:15 pm

I forgot to add:

I think one of the first issues to address is the petshops themselves, are they aware of the extent of wher ethey aquire their animals, and maybe some comparisons between breeders and rodent farms: their ethics, the rats themselves- health, temperament, welfare, diets, the conditions they are kept in.

Solar

Post by Solar » Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:27 pm