New Ratties/ is this normal?

Discuss rat companionship, introductions and behavioural problems such as biting or shyness or tell us about your rat's unusual habits.
Lindsei

New Ratties/ is this normal?

Post by Lindsei » Tue May 31, 2011 7:58 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to FR & keeping Ratties. I brought home 2 Does - 1 Russian Blue (8 weeks) - named Rain & 1 Badger (5 weeks) - named Willow, just over a week ago & I'm curious to know if it's normal for them to be obsessed with ears!? The pair of them or adamant on trying get their whole heads into everyones ears, even though I find this highly amusing when they do it to somebody else, I'm not too keen myself as I convince myself that they're going to bite inside my ear. Is this normal behaviour?

Also they've taken to doing a wee on the back of my hand (which feels really hot) :roll: when they're playing on my desk. 1 will do it, I wipe it away with a babywipe & then the other has a go & they go on to take turns.

I absolutely adore them & they are so friendly but I'm wondering whether they're normal Rattie things to do & if they'll grow out of them?

Lindsei :D
:dumbobaby: Rain - Powder Blue Doe, :dumbobaby: Willow - Husky Doe, :baby: Ratty - Silver Fawn Hooded Buck,
:baby: Tango - Silver Fawn Hooded Buck, :baby: Banksy - Agouti Berkshire Buck, :baby: Mr Jingles - Black Bershire Buck

Happy Hammocks

Hanlou

Re: New Ratties/ is this normal?

Post by Hanlou » Tue May 31, 2011 8:22 pm

Hello! Like baby humans; they are discovering the world around them lol and will probably do slightly strange things whilst they are doing this! :wink:

5 weeks is really too young to be homed tbh (6 weeks upwards is far more normal) so the youngest will probably be very babyish and perhaps a little insecure. From what you've described, they sound pretty normal and confident. The ear-sniffing will probably calm down a bit as the novelty wears off!